Rep. Meier Receives 2022 Public Service Award

Rep. Meier pictured with members of the Clinton County Electric Cooperative Board of Directors from left to right; Tim Hanke, Cary Dickinson, Steve Kalmer, Kevin Wiegmann, Rep. Meier, Kevin Kampwerth, Joe Voss, and Rodney Timmermann.

State Representative Charlie Meier (R-Okawville) received the 2022 Illinois Electric Cooperative (IEC) Public Service Award for his voting record in the Illinois House of Representatives.

Rep. Meier has been a supporter of Illinois electric cooperatives and their member-owners on a wide variety of issues related to the cooperative program to support sustainable, affordable and reliable electricity. Additionally, he has supported efforts to advance economic opportunities and improve the quality of life for rural residents.

“Our local electric cooperatives work 24/7 to meet energy demands that literally help keep our lights on in southern Illinois,” said Rep. Meier. “I appreciate their dedication to our communities and the services they provide.”

The Association of Illinois Electric Cooperatives’ (AIEC) board of directors selected State Representative Charlie Meier to receive its 2022 Illinois Electric Cooperative (IEC) Public Service Award. The award is given annually to lawmakers who support electric cooperatives, consumer-members, and cooperative principles and through their work on key committees. The award was presented at the AIEC annual meeting in Springfield.