Rep. Meier Recognizes All Saints Volleyball Team for State Title Win

This week, State Representative Charlie Meier (R-Okawville) invited the All Saints Academy of Breese eighth grade girls’ volleyball team to the State Capitol to recognize their recent state championship victory. The Saints won the 2018 Southern Illinois Junior High School Athletic Association (SIJHSAA) Class S State Championship.

“It is my honor to recognize the achievement of these young ladies,” said Meier. “Winning a state championship is an impressive accomplishment in its own right, but these young ladies did it in truly incredible fashion by going undefeated with a perfect record of 31-0. Congratulations to the Saints, their coaches and their families on this wonderful success.”

The Saints defeated Altamont Lutheran in three sets by a score of 25-22, 20-25, and 15-3 in the Championship match at Herrin High School on March 24, 2018. Although the third volleyball team in All Saints Academy history to win a state title, their perfect 31-0 season tied the school record for the most wins in a season and marked a new milestone as the only team in school history to go undefeated. This state championship victory also makes All Saints Academy the first school in the history of the Southern Illinois Junior High School Athletic Association (SIJHSAA) to win a volleyball state championship on three different levels (Class L, Class M, and Class S).

Rep. Meier honored the championship team and coaching staff with the adoption of House Resolution 951 earlier in April. This week, Meier introduced the coaching staff and players so they could be honored before the House of Representatives. The Saints team includes: Head Coach Jennifer Jasper and Assistant Coach Jenna Ratermann; Emma Huelskamp, Sophie Hustedde, Emily Johnson, Riley Kleber, Jenna Martin, Tori Mohesky, Meg Poettker, Annalyse Richter and Alivia Lampe (7th grade).

To read the full resolution honoring the All Saints Academy of Breese eighth grade girls’ volleyball team, Click Here.