Rep. Meier Honors Okawville Rockets Boys Basketball Championship at the Capitol

State Representative Charlie Meier (R-Okawville) honored the Okawville High School varsity boys basketball team, the Rockets, on winning the 2017-2018 Illinois High School Association Class 1A State Championship during Tuesday’s session of the Illinois House of Representatives.  

“I am extremely proud of the Okawville boys basketball team on winning their first state championship,” said Rep. Meier. “The dedication and hard work that took place in order to win a state championship is a skill set the team can carry-on throughout life. Congratulations to my hometown team, the Okawville Rockets on winning the state championship.”

The Rockets defeated Annawan by a score of 59-48 on March 10, 2018 at Carver Arena in Peoria. The Rockets set a Class 1A state finals record from the three-point range, shooting 8-of-14, or 57.1%, during the championship game. The Rockets have been to the state tournament nine times in school history, but this is the first time the Rockets have won the state championship. The Rockets ended their season with an overall record of 27 wins and 8 losses.    

Rep. Meier recognized the championship team and coaching staff by adopting House Resolution 947.

The following were recognized and congratulated by Rep. Meier’s Resolution; Head Coach Jon Kraus, Assistant Coaches Ryan Heck, Jackie Smith, Mike Frederking, and Cameron Obermeier; Rockets Boy’s Basketball Teammates; Payten Harre, Lucas Frederking, Caleb Frederking, Will Aubel, Jordan Green, Wyatt Krohne, Luke Hensler, Carter Killion, Drew Riechmann, Tyler Parsley, Tyler Roesener, Payton Riechmann, Lane Schilling, Tom Segelhorst, and Jackson Heckert.   The Okawville High School cheerleading squad joined the team at the Capitol on Tuesday, April 24th to show support, members of the cheerleading team include; Tiffany Thompson, Emily Bening, Lauryn Cepeda, Jordyn Curtis, Alyssa Jenkins, Katy Kinzel, Caryssa Kennelly, Bryleigh Prest, Abby Schmersahl, Anna Schmersahl, Erin Wiedwilt, and Taylor Bleisch.